Is this ick or something else can anyone tell?

2quills

I'm a rookie saltwater tank owner and I'm looking for help with a diagnosis. Just bought this tank a couple of weeks ago and it came with the rock, sand and fish already in it. The blue hippo tang has little white spots all over his body and I can't tell if it is ick or not. The spots were hardly noticeable when I first got the tank but now they seem to be getting worse. None of the other fish have it. At first I thought it was just particles in the water sticking to his body but now I think it's something else but not sure what. Anybody got any ideas?...I've got a QT tank set up already to be able to do hypo if necissary. Any help would be greatly apreciated. Here are a couple of picks, not the greatest but best I can do right now.

r1v2c

unless i'm missing something, I can't see any pics... also, until you identify what the problem is I would QT the fish so it doesn't infect anything else.

btldreef

Your fish don't look good. You need to QT. Look through the disease forum photos to positively identify. To me, it does look like ich.

2quills

Actually the yellow tang and the other fish all look pretty good, I think what you're seeing is light reflecting off of the particles in the water and on the glass caused by the flash on the camera, because in person I don't see anything on him or the other fish. What I am wondering now is if I should go ahead and quarantine them all just to be safe or not? Does anyone know if I can quarantine them all together or should I just do the hippo? At this point I've talked to a few other people and I'm pretty positive it's ick (little white fuzzy spots and he keeps scratching on the rocks).

meowzer

If one has it, they all do....actually it's in the tank....if you have a qt big enough, I'd do hypo on all of them, and leave the tank empty of fish for 6-8 weeks
Have you been to the disease section? There are great threads on how to do this, and pics of sick fish too

2quills