John's New Tank Diary.......

coolguy818

Ok everyone here knows me as Coolguy818, I have been tinkering with a 29g for the past 5 months......
Well on an impulse buy, due to the impulse being a free tank, I was pretty much forced into an upgrade...
And here it is:
Tank
70g - 36"length, 21" width, 24" height
60lbs of Beautiful LR + 45lbs of LR (from old tank)
30lbs of LS + 40lbs LS (from old tank)
2 Maxi Jet 1200 (from old tank)
Jager 100w Heater
Filtration
30g Sump/Fuge
20lbs LS
800 GPH Overflow
800 GPH Return Pump
Cheato Algea
Coralife Super Skimmer 65 (from old tank)
Lighting (Retrofit)
2x175w MH SE 14k (1 from old tank)
2x39 T5 HO 1 is 6700k and the other 18k
Total wattage: 428w = 6.11 watts per gallon
I am experiencing a cycle start, poor CUC. They got dropped in with the tank exchange. I salvaged whatever I could.
I will be aquascaping tmrw morning...... Too tired.
Well tell me what you think..... First is a before and then an after....

coolguy818

How many and what type of fish can I have in a tank this size?
It will be a mixed reef.
Tangs? Angels? Wrasses? Anthias?
Tell me please

puffer32

Nice upgrade. I would say all the fish you mentioned except the tang would be fine in that size. Make sure the angel is a dwarf, and wrasses are reef safe. You could probly do about 8 fish, but it really depends on the sizes of the fish.

coolguy818

Thanks Puffer....
So I can't put any tangs into this tank, at all? Not even if they are small?
Like 1-2 inches?

gatorwpb

You cant put any tangs in a 36" tank. A small one would be fine, but soon you would need a bigger tank for him.
I have a 65gal and its 36"
I have 6 fish and eventually will add a 7th, some sort of blenny.
Now I have 2 clowns, blue-green chromis, banghai cardinal, blackcap basslet, and a flame angel. Having issues with the flame picking at sps, so he may be traded back.

coolguy818

I got a different problem now. During the transfer I had to leave the corals and fish in the old 29g.