lion fish....im scared..ha

mopar9012

Ive talked about this topic before and rulled out the lion fish. I am now thinking of one again.
i have a 65 gal reef tank.
my two smallest fish are a chromis and a royal gramma....should I be nervous about their well being?
also i would like some comments on some people who have kept them before.
I am VERY nervous about my well being...
My dad lost his job last decemeber and my mom is having a hard time but is managing to do some subbing for the schools...I am a college student
but we have no health insurance....
so what are your opinions on them....is it worth the risk?

ophiura

Do you mean a large species, like a volitan, or a dwarf?
with a large species I would say both fish are in danger, as is, potentially, your water quality. A dwarf, eh, I would bet the gramma is still something it would try. If you have any shrimp, those would go too. Basically...if you really like your gramma and chromis and would be annoyed to lose them, then it is not worth the risk. If you like lionfish more than the others, than it may be.
I would say it IS a real risk of them eating things.
I would say a 65, IMO, is a bit small for a large species of lionfish.
I think a dwarf would be cool, but with a trade off of them possibly eating something. A call you need to make I think :)
It does "change the ballgame" of working in your tank. I don't pay much mind to moving around rocks. You put a venemous animal in there, and you had better know where it is, all the time.

melypr1985

if your talking about the lion being a danger to you, then yeah if your not aware of it when your hands are in the tank then your gunna get stung eventually. Use a feeding stick or tongs to feed him and always keep an eye out for where it is when doing maintenence. I have one and as long as you dont scare the crap out of him he usually stays away from my hand (unless he smells food).

ophiura

Originally Posted by mopar9012
http:///forum/post/3144195
have you been stung?