Lost my job this morning(arch. field in S. Cali)

socalnano24

My company started laying off people about 13 months ago. We had hit 50% lay offs in July and my boss had told us that we hit the critical operating level of the company so they didn't think they could lay anyone else off and stay in business. I guess they're going to try!
I work in the structural engineering field in Southern california. I have colleagues who got laid off in March and have yet to receive an in person interview in the field.
I'm scared.... my lease is up on my apartment in a week and I won't be able to reapply for a smaller unit or studio without a steady paycheck (at least I do'nt think they accept unemployment checks as proof of income)...
Anybody work in the architectural field anywhere have any leads?

lovethesea

ugh, sorry to hear about that! It seems to be a continual thing that companies in the U.S. are doing and seem they will continue to do regardless of how the powers that be swear they won't do.
If you apply for a smaller apt., why would you have to show proof of anything. You have paid consistently and have been a good tenant right? Also, I hope your company gave you a severance of some sort?
I would think that a credit check and your last few paycheck would be sufficent if that is what they are going to ask you for.
good luck.......can you search different states to see what jobs in your field are available. I know that is easier said than done, but if So Cal is saturated right now, it would be interesting to see what other cities in Cali or other states have openings.

btldreef

It's no different here in NY either. My husbands dad works in the same field and was laid off a year ago. He worked for two weeks a few months ago, and then got let go again.