Need Help w/Snail Poop & Vac. Sand

tirtza

Hello! I have 1 large Mexican Turbo Snail that eats A LOT (it does an excellent job keeping the rocks very clean! Unfortunately it also poops A LOT! The droppings look like little black mouse turds. It could be from one of the other creatures in the tank, however the only other things in the tank are 3 large hermit crabs, a Lawn Mower Blenny, and 2 clown fish. Is it possible the droppings are from one of them and not the Mexican Turbo?
Most importantly how do I get rid of those droppings?
Is there something that will eat them that I can add to my clean up crew?
I'm new to saltwater, however in the past I have had freshwater tanks. I never had a problem vacuuming gravel, but I'm having a lot of difficulties vacuuming the sand. First of all, I keep sucking up lots of sand every time I try to vacuum it. Second, the snail (or what ever type it is) poop doesn't get sucked up all that much when I try to vacuum it up. I seem to only move the sand around and end up burying the poop. What should I do!?!
I would greatly ANY advice anyone can provide! Thank you so much!

btldreef

Sounds like blenny poop. You can siphon them with a turkey baster. What it really sounds like, is that you need more snails/hermits/shrimp/clean up crew.

xcali1985

Im general I believe algae eater have bigger stools. I wouldn't be worried about that. Mine usually breaks up with flow as they do their business. I agree with BTL that it's simply a clean up crew size issue.
What size tank is it ? How much live rock? How many inches of sand? Provide these details and we can assist on letting you know the correct amounts you should have.
Also I don't think I have ever seen my snails "poop"

tirtza