New in SW. 55 Gal Setup ... help is needed

chingchong

Hi,
I have been keeping African Cichlids for 2 years now ... and had always been fond of SW fish.
I have 120 Gal All Glass pre-drilled w/29 gal diy sump, and a 55 Gal.
I just converted my 55 gal to SW (emptied, and cleaned up) and I am thinking about moving the 120 Gal too. But everything must be done slowly ... not sure about it yet.
So this is what I'd like to have:
I just want to keep some clownfish (2 to 4). It'll be a fish only marine tank.
This is what equipment I have and will have:
- 55 Gal tank (4' long x1' wide x2' high)
- 40lbs aragamax reef sand + 10 lbs caribsea sugar sized sand.
- skilter 250
- Customsea life double helix UV sterilizer (9V)
- Fluval 304
- 2 powerhead via 480 (200gph)
- GE HIGH OUTPUT COMPACT Strip-Light (110w)
- Ebo Jager Heater 13" 150W
- Rainbow Customflo Water System/Complete Kit
- AquaClear 200 with surface skimmer
- Carib Sea Araga Alive Super Reef -1 Gallon
- HDL Right Now SALTWATER 3-PACK
- HDL Tri-Base Pelletized Carbon
This is what I have done so far:
- Filled the tank with RO water, added Instant Ocean salt and brought SG to 1.022 S=30.
The weird thing about it is that I had to put 55 Gal of IO Salt in it to bring the salinity to that level ... I was expecting to use less. Measurement have been taken 48hrs after setup at 80 degrees.
I am waiting for the following
- HDL Right Now SALTWATER 3-PACK
- HDL Tri-Base Pelletized Carbon
Apparently it's for a 24 hrs cycle process as opposed to 4-5 weeks
- Rainbow Customflo water
Then once I make sure the readings are okay, I'll add my clownfish.
Now here are questions for the experts.
I made a DSB (hopefully). It's about 4in thick. I'd like to have a minimum maintenance for nitrate ... I have been reading to use LR. But it gets really expensive and money is not what I have right now. From the Cichlid tank I have about 70 lbs of lace rock.
1- Can I use the lace rock if I put the live sand with them?