Ok Need Help Asap

aanthony

ok, so im confused, what do i do, i came home and found my powder blue dead!!!, so i took all my fish out of my tank, meaning i had to take out all the lr. so right now i have a hippo tang, yellow tang, clownfish, bicolor anthias, and a cleaner wrasee in a small bowl, im on my way setting up a 35 gallon qt, but it is not yet cycled. WHAT DO I DO???

cj7eagle

i am not an expert by any means, but i would just take 30 gallons or so from your tank and put it in the 35 gallon.
do you know why your fish died?

earlybird

Any sponge media that's been in your DT that you can put in your QT will help with keeping spikes down. Have a lot of make up water ready so you can do large water changes in the event of a spike. Also pick up some amquel which will neutralize the effects of algae but not eliminate it, which means it will still show up on tests.

geridoc

I think you may have over-reacted by removing all of your fish to a small bowl. That was probably more stressful to them than whatever was going on in the dt. Did you ever get a diagnosis on what killed the tang? Sometimes ---- happens, and a fish dies from a stroke, kidney failure, etc., and you don't need to take drastic measures. But, what is done is done, so be prepared to control the ammonia levels in the qt by water changes and the correct use of Amquel Plus and you have a good chance of coming through this OK. Since you don't seem to know what killed your fish, how will you determine when it is safe to remove the fish from qt?

aanthony

alright sorry, my tank had ich, and instead of me just fixing the probelm i just figured it would go away. So when i came home my powder blue was dead due to ick, so i figured that was the last straw, so i had to take all my fish out and put them in my 30 gallon, at a salinity at 1.09, so i am starting the hypo process, i am just worried about a spike.

al mc