Perc Clowns going ballistic

airandsea

Hey guys and gals, as you know I am a newb. I have a question about my two percula clowns. They are both about 2" but on is a little bit bigger than the other. Anyways, for the last couple weeks I have noticed that the bigger one has been doing the "fidgety" thing. The closest thing I can describe it to is a seizure. That obviously isn't what it is but a very quick movement for a second or two. He/she will "stand" straight up and do it or roll on its side and kick up the sand. Today I noticed that they both are doing it. The larger one has been zooming through the tank and then darting right at the smaller one. Seems like the bigger one is nipping a little bit at the smaller one. The smaller one has been staying in the same spot of the tank and is staying low towards the sand. The smaller one has a few small nips on the rear top fin and the anal fin. Could this be some sort of courtship thing??? Just curious on your thoughts. I will try to get some video of itand show you soon. Thanks for your help!!!!

jints

Normal behavior. The one who is looking like hes going through an electric shock is displaying submissiveness. Basically thats the one who will turn male. The larger will be female and the dominant one. Or it might be the other way around I forget. But it is normal.

airandsea

Originally Posted by Jints
http:///forum/post/2666691
Normal behavior. The one who is looking like hes going through an electric shock is displaying submissiveness. Basically thats the one who will turn male. The larger will be female and the dominant one. Or it might be the other way around I forget. But it is normal.
Well, I was gone for a little over an hour and the smaller one now has quite a few good nips to the peck fins and the dorsal has been nipped at pretty extensively. I am just a bit nervous. The large one is doing most of the electric shock thing but that is the one who is being aggressive.

jints