Ph?

billy2k1

I just read that there is not ph in ro+di water,i'm new in this hobbie and i'm setting up a new tank and thats exactly what i used, ro+di water,what should i do as far as ph???

jerthunter

well that is not necessarily true, I believe the pH of DI water is about 6 (Not totally sure about this), 7 for normal water. And you want your pH to be at about 8.2 or so. Adding salt will raise the pH most of the way up to 8.2 but even if it is you should still add a pH buffer to keep the pH from changing drastically. The buffer is made so that it makes sure your water resists changes in pH. But as far as DI water having no pH, that is definately not true.

carshark

not to steal the thread but the question does pertain to this....im in the process of hyposalinity and im worried about my ph taking a dive, ive gone from 1.023-1.020, i have another due 2 gallon change soon, i added some red sea buffer, but im curious because removing that water and replacing it with RO water will also slowly remove the buffer.. anyone have any opinions on what i should do?

jerthunter

I would recommend to add more buffer to the replacement water, although if you are only removing a little water it should be ok even without more buffer.

mikeyjer

Originally Posted by Jerthunter
well that is not necessarily true, I believe the pH of DI water is about 6 (Not totally sure about this), 7 for normal water. And you want your pH to be at about 8.2 or so. Adding salt will raise the pH most of the way up to 8.2 but even if it is you should still add a pH buffer to keep the pH from changing drastically. The buffer is made so that it makes sure your water resists changes in pH. But as far as DI water having no pH, that is definately not true.