Size of Tank to Start With

joyful23

Hi there! I am new to salt water so I have been reading a lot of books. I was just wondering what would be a good size tank to start with. I don't want to go too small and then wish I would have went bigger. If I went with a 75 gallon would I be able to do a reef tank? I would like to have a large variety of colorful fish (doesn't everyone?) and maybe eventually some corals and anemons. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.

djevack

do at least 55g. you could do a 75 or even 90g. There wont be much cost difference between the 75 and 90. I started w/ a 90g. could size to start learning with, imo

joyful23

It's not the tank that I'm worried about, it's all the other things that I will need to go with it. I figured I have about $1500 or so to spend. Any advice?

aredmon

I think a 75 would do fine for a reef. I am new also and only doing a Fish with Live rock tank. Do you know what kind of fish you would like to have? If you want a large number of bright fish and a reef you will want to go with smaller fish like gobies, clowns and such. Kind of figure out what fish you would like to have and then pick a tank size. You don't have to know the exact fish but if there is a certain kind you like overall be sure to get a tank to fit them.

27mtaylor

Just remember that a larger tank gives you a little more margin of error than a smaller one does. That will help out when dealing with water quality issues and such.

joyful23

My kids love the "Nemo" type fish. Clowns, Tangs, Grammas, etc. I don't want to mess with anything that gets really big or is aggressive. I would like to have as many small colorful fish as possible.

djevack

Originally Posted by PFitz44
Start with the biggest tank you can afford....