SPS ISSUES :(

meowzer

I have a pink birdsnest and a pink Damicornis that is showing white at the base.....this is not sudden.....and it is very very slow moving
all other SPS is doing GREAT.....I am in the process of doing a 40G water change...(literally) and will test the water in the morning to give it time to adjust ...unless anyone thinks I could do it sooner

Not sure what the issue could be or what to look for
any suggestion would help

1guydude

Can u get some pics meowzer?
Could be slow tissue necrosis. Its commonly called STN and its where the tissue kinda degenerates in my belief.....im by no means an SPS expert though so id do some resrearch myself if i was u!

meowzer

I have been reading and reading....and I am just not seeing what I think I should be... :(
and why only 2 pieces and not all of it??????
adding pics....OK....this one I noticed a month or so ago....small spot....and apparently very slow moving

This one I noticed a week or so ago....There is actually new growth on tips...which makes me even more confused

1guydude

Wats ur alkalinity or DKH? Sry i have no idea how to fix this. Im going off wat ive seen and read on other forums!

1guydude

idk lol
u didnt test it before the w/c??? thats wat i would have done...you could prob test it in an hour or so! This is the big tank right? It should all dillute and mix quickly

luvmyreef

I have had this happen to a green birdsnest out of nowhere too in my 75, and it spread to my blue acro. My advice is to frag it now before you loose it all. Make sure the fragged piece doesnt have any white areas. Large water changes did not help me, and if I had not fragged it when I did, I would not have it now.

meowzer

Quote:
Originally Posted by luvmyreef http:///forum/thread/386581/sps-issues#post_3396396