Toxic coral warfare???

rook

Howdy all.
I have a question for all of you sps keepers and knowledge reef keepers.
I have been reading quite a bit about certain soft corals, and supposedly certain large polyp stonies that emit toxins into our tanks that can harm and potentially kill small polyp stonies, and certain large polyp stonies, and potentially fish an invertabrates.
Since I don't know a great deal about this, as I am just learning about it now, I will just leave the question open and hopefully start up a discussion about what is going on with this and how much is really true.
So, any one have any thoughts on this??

bang guy

All of the softies have some form of defense ranging from nematocysts that require direct contact to toxins that can be carried downstream.
Most LPS have sweeper tentacles packed with nematocycts that can kill on contact. I don't know of any that emit toxins but I don't doubt it's possible.

rook

Do you, or do you know anyone who keeps a mixed reef successfully with sps/lps/softies? BTW, I mean well over a year, if not longer.
I currently have a mixed reef, but now I am thinking maybe I should rethink my corals collection and sell off the leathers so they wont effect my sps/lps.

rook

I asked Eric and he said the research really has not been done for sun corals to really say they emit a toxic that will effect your corals or not. But many kinds of leathers and other types of softcorals do. Supposedly the effect may be hard to even dectect. Such as the coral just not growing as well as it should, or as drastic as tissue damage, rtn, and death of the coral. Also, fish and inverts can supposedly be effected inadvertantly by the chemicals.
Supposedly.

bang guy

Originally posted by Rook
Supposedly.

Anything Eric says about corals should be taken as fact IMO.
I have a mix of softies and Stonies. I also have a large volume of water to dilute any toxins.

rook

Originally posted by Bang Guy