Which uv sterilizer?

innsmouth

Which UV sterilizer would be efficient for my 92 gallon aggressive FOWLR tank? I've been reading a lot about the Turbo-Twist 3X UV Sterilizer. Any ideas?

bdhough

i can't tell you which is good but i personally would not waste my money on it especially since you have live rock. i have no experience but have heard the light will end up killing more good things than bad things. a fowlr has the potential to grow alot of microlife which can help to feed your fish. do some searching on this and maybe youll save your money for some good lights :)

bdhough

good lights meaning power compacts or a nice flourescent strip. the more lighting you can get on your fish the happier you'll be with how they look. sorry about that.
like i said, or if i didn't, do some research on uv's with fowlrs. my say is don't get one....

innsmouth

I have a JBJ single strip 36" 96W 50/50 NO and a 24" 2x40W CSL power compact 10K and "true" actinic (not so sure if it's really an 03 actinic). You think this is good enough? I'm really not very knowlegable when it comes to lighting. Also how does this relate to the UV sterilizer? Doesn't the UV kill parasites and bacterias or am I thinking about the wrong piece of equipment?

bona42na

Im gonna tag along here because Ive already plumbed in an AquaUV 15 watt sterilizer into my system. As far as quality and ease of install goes I can vouch for that . I havent lighted it yet as Im still cycling my tank. It would be tragic if it killed all the good stuff on my live rock. I read that it was great to prevent disease on tanks.

bdhough

i will add this to it. the uv steralizer will kill anything floating through it. it will not harm anything on the rocks and most of the beneficial things attach to the rocks anyways.

bdhough