why do u have a sw aquarium?

i love fish

I was just wondering if any of u would like 2 share with me why u have a sw aquarium and what u luv about it the most and if u have any funny fish stories.
I luv my sw aquarium coz its like having a 24 hr cartoon channel, and all the cartoon characters are real, they r so funny and entertaining.
wat about u guys?

J

jessed244

I am fairly new to sw tanks, I have had a 20 gal up since january, had one before that and it crashed (i have learned from that) I am now working on a 56 gal, just starting it. I love the saltwater, there is so much to look at and watch. It is also cool that we can recreate the ocean in our homes.
Thats why I Like it.

ccampbell57

I have my fish because it relaxes me. Each one has it's own characteristics and they are all my "children". I enjoy watching them grow and can't wait to get home to them everyday to watch them in a "natural" environment.
I find myself stuck to my tank more than to my TV and my wife and kids get a lot of enjoyment out of them as well.
Everyone that has a SW tank is addicted in one way or another. When I first started, it was a personal challenge that I wanted to overcome. People always told me that saltwater was too hard and that it was impossible to keep fish long term.
Well over 4 years later with most of the same fish, I can tell you that SW is not difficult (challenging at times) and it is very rewarding. It is harder than other hobbies in the fact that you do get attached to your fish. For instance, I had a large porcupine puffer that I loved dearly that just up and passed away after 3 healthy years. It was heart breaking. I actually still have him in my second freezer in a zip lock so I can say "hi" to him every once in a while.
I find myselft doing the same laps at my LFS' every week to ease my tension from work or "real" life.

blaze98

I have a saltwater aquarium because I wasn't born a fish

If I would spend all day in the ocean I could

A

alexmir