10 Gallon Dwarf Seahorse

stephanthegreat

Hello, I am new to the world of saltwater. I have kept various tropical freshwater tanks (as of right now, I have 110g African Cichlid tank). This fall, I'm off to college and looking to bring a 10g tank I have sitting in my garage. As I was looking for what kind of fish to put in it, I stumbled across the idea of Dwarf Seahorses. There are a ton of questions I have. I have been doing a ton of reading on nano saltwater tanks and more specifically, seahorse tanks and there seems to be no special equipment besides a filter and heater.

So here are my questions:
Do I need other equipment? If so, what would I need?
I understand that water changes must be very often. How often? I read someplace that it's every day and another place said once a week.
This also can't be the most expensive tank in the world. I am a college student and I don't have a lot of money. I understand that saltwater is all around more expensive but I can't drop $200 on this tank. So if that's the case, stop me now.
Lastly, I will be at college and will have to come home a couple times a year. Will the car ride stress them out to no end? Is that just not an option?

I love fish and would absolutely love an aquarium in my dorm and have it be my distraction from school (healthy distraction of course). If seahorses are a bad idea but another kind of saltwater species would work, I'm open to suggestions.

lmforbis

Everything I've read about dwarf sea horses has said they are very difficult to keep. Certainly not appropriate for a first time saltwater tank. They are difficult to feed and need pristine water and it needs to be on the cooler side requiring a chiller.
10 gallons is very small for salt water. One small fish like a goby and that's about it.

jay0705

Agreed, the Dwarf part lends people to think small tank. Not so much with these guys. Not that they need a huge tank,just that there other needs are more easily met with a larger tank

stephanthegreat