clams under VHO?

krishj39

I have a 90g tank with 660watts of VHO. Are there any clams I can have that would survive and maintain their color in my tank, if I put it right under the lights? I'm thinking I should be able to get away with a squamosa clam. Anyone have success with this or other photosynthetic clams under VHO?

aarone

I beleive clams are the best under MH. Im not an expert so take my advice with a grain of salt. I wouldnt use the VHO. They wouldnt open much under vho, and they wouldnt have as much color.

spsfreak100

This is a highly debatible subject. There are many people keeping some species of clams (Usually T. Squamosa or T. Derasa) under flourecent lighting while other people urge to put clams under halides. I would personally not recommend adding a clam to go under anything but halides, as they simply do best under a higher intensity level. I would be highly interested in debating this topic with a few people, as long as it is in a friendly manner :)
Now, both T. Derasa and T. Squamosa are usually found burried in the sandbed. Only around 1/9th of the lighting reaches the bottom of the aquarium. Unless you have high intensity bulbs, such as halides, the clam may turn brown from increased zooxanthellae levels.
Off the topic of lighting: Lighting isn't the only thing which should keep the clam alive and thriving. Water quality also plays an extremely important role in clam husbandry. You should always have good water quality alone with a good calcium level (around 450ppm) and alkalinity level (I would aim for around 8-13dKH). A mature tank also helps, a lot. Unless your tank is older than 7 months old (A year would be much better), I wouldn't add a clam.
You should also aim to buy a ORA Aquacultured clam rather than a wild clam. Aquacultured do much better in captivity than wild clams do.
If you could post some more information on your tank setup, that would help quite a bit.
Take Care,
Graham

aileena