During the cycling process, when my ammonia eventually spikes, what is the best way to handle it?

tirtza

I start week 2 tomorrow of the cycling process. I added two damsels a couple of days ago. I'm very new at this, but from what I've been told, I will eventually have an ammonia spike during the cycling process? How do I handle this spike in ammonia and prevent my 2 fish or live rock from being harmed? I've also been adding product called 'Stability' that is supposed to provide 'good bacteria'.
My Aquarium Basics: (as of today)
Tank size - 29 gal Oceanic biocube (with an additional carbon filter pad covering the overflow tray above the bioballs in the 2nd chamber)
Type - 2 Damsel Fish with several pounds of live rock & live sand
Status - Still cycling and I'm waiting for my live rock or live sand to start growing something (hopefully purple?) or spread something to my base rock.
Water parameters- pH = 8, Ammonia = 0, Nitrite = 0, Nitrate = 0

Salinity - 1.025

Temperature - 79

M

mxsnow145

they might sirvie *new tank syndrome* but its out of your hands

flower

Why use a fish when a chunk of raw shrimp would have done the job?
Welcome to the site....As much as I hate damsels, I would not cycle a tank with them. <<<BIG SIGH>>>
Okay, if you are going to keep them...do regular 20% water changes the moment you see a spike to try and keep the fish alive...that is called a soft cycle....it takes longer but it should prevent fish death.
Damsels are evil mean fish, don't let that tiny size fool you. They mature into devils that will bite your hand drawing blood, and they will kill every fish you try and add that is more timid then themselves (that coveres most community fish)..including each other.