live stock

camanuch

hey guys looking for some live stock opinions.
For some clarification what are LPS, SPS, soft corals, hard corals. New to the reef. Also I know I want to keep some clowns and some cucumbers.
Thanks for the help.
Lighting is 4t5ho's. 39watts each
30 gal tank
Approx. 70lbs LR
20lbs LS

cafero702

Originally Posted by camanuch
http:///forum/post/2575764
hey guys looking for some live stock opinions.
For some clarification what are LPS, SPS, soft corals, hard corals. New to the reef. Also I know I want to keep some clowns and some cucumbers.
Thanks for the help.
Lighting is 4t5ho's. 39watts each
30 gal tank
Approx. 70lbs LR
20lbs LS
im rather new to reef but in my opinion your set up sounds awesome all the LR and the lights.
and hard corals are anything with a hard skeleton like brains acropora clams
soft corals are like polyps leathers etc.
hopefully someone will comfirm this im rather new to reef also

C

cmaxwell39

Softies are anything that does not have a hard skeleton as was stated. Some examples would be zoos, leathers, green star polyps, mushrooms, etc. These are often considered some of the easiest corals to care for and most of the time require the least amount of light.
LPS stands for large polyp stony corals. These corals have their own skeleton and have large fleshy polyps. They require a little more light than softies and some are a little harder to care for. Some LPS do not like a lot of flow. Examples would be brains, acans, candy canes, frogspawn, etc...
SPS are the hardest to care for. A lot of them require an intense amount of light and a very high rate of flow in the aquarium. They also require near perfect water chemistry. Examples would be montiporas and acroporas as well as some others.
Clams are actually not a coral but have similar needs to SPS corals. Anemones would also fall here.

camanuch

Originally Posted by cmaxwell39
http:///forum/post/2575797