New 10 gal help!

I'm purchasing an Aqueon Deluxe Kit 10 to start a SW project. I had a 2 gal nano but after I set it up I realized it was too small to put any fish I wanted in it. Anyway, the Aqueon kit comes with a 20-30 gal power filter, flourescent lighting and I have a submersible heater and a thermometer. I was thinking about switching out the bulbs for a little bit less harsh light (like something with blue in it). I was going to put live sand, about 5 lbs of live rock and some fake plants for aquascaping. For creatures, I was thinking a pair of gobies and some snails as my CUC. Any and all help would be appreciated, I'm a bit new at the SW thing! Also I was thinking testing every other day, topping off everyday if needed and biweekly water changes.
Thanks in advance!
-thedragonfish

angel15

Im new to this foruns, but not to saltwater.
Imo,
buy a standard 10gal tank. (Could get one on CL for $10)
Buy an AquaClear70 or 100 and mod it for a refugium/filter floss/heater/ChemiPure.
Buy a 240gph Koralia Nano Powerhead.
10lbs of Live Sand
About 10 or less Lbs of Live Rock.
A par38 or par30 LED bulb
A 100w heater
A thermometer
A Good salt mix.
AND A REFRACTOMETER.
And you're set!
You have yourself a tank made for a reef. :)
Forget the Fake plants (no bueno)
And I would recommend weekly water changes of at least 2gals.

flower

Hi,

Welcome to the site! When it comes to SW, the smaller the tank the harder it is to keep going...a 10g is a very, very tiny tank. You will only be able to have one small fish in it, 2 gobies, unless they are the tiny yellow clown fish type are too large for it, and you will still have a hard time keeping it stable. You will spend just as much on a 10g set up, as you will for a 30g. The equipment is exactly the same except maybe a couple of extra rocks.

angel15

Thanks Angel15! Do you have any advice on the filter mod (like a link, or how  you have done yours)?
Yes I do. Shoot me a message and ill send you a link and help you further.