New to the hobby need help

skidemon95

Hows it going everyone? i am new to this hobby. I LOVE IT! Except i had a little problem.
i spent alot of time in my lfs and talking to the owner. i ended up buying a
38g tank. have some live rock in it. probably like 15-20lbs. bought some fish.
had a porky puffer, regal angel, powder brown. well they all died. tank is a month and a week old.
after talking to the guy at the store we found out what happened. when i bought the tank he gave me a little bottle to de-chlorinate the water.
i had done water changes and didnt know that i had to keep putting more in. well since all the fish died i did a 30% water change a week ago and put in a bunch of the de-chlorinator in. and then 2 days ago i did a 5g water change again.
today i put a snowflake eel in and he is twitching. i didnt notice him twitch in the store. i just wanna make sure before i go out and buy anymore fish that i am ok.
any input on what i should do?
thanks for all the help in advance!

gio28

you didnt cycle the tank?! or did you put them in after your tank was cycled (after a month) and then they died?

meowzer

Just out of curiosity....isn't a 38G a little small for a snowflake eel????
ALSO...I think the tank is too small for most of the other fish you mentioned too...
WELCOME to SWF....and if I may suggest that you do your own research before adding any more fish.....your LFS may just be selling you whatever to make a buck...

arvins

Do you have a test kit. If so can you post your parameters, it doesn't sound like your tank was cycled before you started adding fish. My guess would be your tank is cycling with the fish and the ammonia is causing the deaths.
Also if your local fish store sold you those fish for that tank I'd have a nice talk with them as none of those fish are good for that small a tank AND fish like the powder brown are not good for beginners

If you can post your parameters that would be a huge help though

skidemon95

Originally Posted by gio28