Costa's 156 gallon Build Log

costa13

Well I have been researching and preparing for this tank for many months now. I just picked up the tank today, that I had built by a local aqurium builder in Mississippi. I chose to go with a tank that was 60x24x24 = 156 gallons. There is 3x 1.5" holes drilled in the back. Two of the holes are for drains to the sump, on these I will be using exterior duroso standpipes. The 3rd hole is the intake of the CL. However the aquirium builder drilled the CL intake hole to high so I am going to have to use a 90 to drop it down a little. I am going to have the stand and canopy built by the cabinet maker who built the cabinets in our kitchen.
I plan on painting the back of the tank black. Also I am either going to SSB or BB on this tank. I am leaning towards SSB because I really like the look of sand. For the rock work I am planning on having two island type structures. The reason for doing this is better circulation, more room for the fish to swim and I am sick of rock walls.
So far here is my equipment list:
Lighting:
2x IceCap 250w MH HQI Ballast
2x Lumenarc Stealth HQI reflector
2x Phoneix 250w MH HQI Bulbs
Supplemented with either T5s or VHOs
Skimmer:
Octopus Recirc Needlewheel 150
Controller
Nepturn AquaController JR or II
Closed Loop:
OM 4-way
Sequence Dart
Return Pump:
Eheim 1262
Heater:
2x 250w heater
Reactors:
GEO Calcium Reactor 618
CO2 bottle and regulator
PhoBan Reactor
DIY Auto Top Off
Heres a pictures of the tank sitting in my garge.

The 2 drains

The CL intake as you can see I had to put the 90 on it

Also here is my sump design the I will be builling. I will be using a spare 20T that I have laying around for the fuge and build the sump out of acrylic.

costa13

Also forgot to mention I am upgrading from a 20 gallon tank, that I am treating for flatworms right now. Heres a picture of it.

costa13

Originally Posted by BoCfuss
Very Nice!! Keep us updated. Can't wait to see what happens next.