first time mixing SW

annaflowerpower

Hello everyone! I'm new to sw tanks and am trying to save money on water. I've been buying premixed water from my LFS.
Today I ordered a CoralLife 4-stage rodi system. What salt do you recommend I use wheb mixing? I also heard I should have the sw mixed for 24 hours before adding.
Do you have recommendationa on the mixing process?
Do I just dump the salt in water (measured obviously) and mix then next day put in?

flower

Hi,
Have a utility power head in the mixing tub...kind of sprinkle the salt into the water and not have it touch the bottom before being mixed. (do the best you can, I always gave a good stir and added the salt, 1/2 cup at a time until I had the right amount of salt for the gallons in the tub of water. The power head will keep it churning, wait and let it churn 24 hours and then test the SG...add salt, or more RO water as needed to get the right SG to match the display. Add what you are going to, and let it churn 1 or 2 hours to mix again real good, before you test the SG again. Do not use it until the SG matches.
The first few times are a bother to get it to match, but after doing it just a few times, you just kind of know what it takes. Now when I mix my salt to the water, most times it's right on the button the first time I test. salt made for a reef should be used if you are keeping a reef tank, regular salt mix for FOWLR. Whatever brand you select, it's best to always use that same brand each time.
I have used Instant ocean reef crystals, and the Instant ocean salt mix...only because it's the easiest to get from the LFS around here, I have never had any problems with it.

novass

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flower http:///t/396162/first-time-mixing-sw#post_3529041
Hi,