my tank is shocking me

btwk12

everytime i stick my hand in my tank water it shocks me! and sometimes it's a pretty good jolt! but everything in my tank is doing fine. and even when i stick my finger in there and it shocks me they still have no reaction at all. what could be causing this and why is it shocking me and they are completley fine?

i am no expert but i think its called stray voltage i think i have heard of some people using some kind of a "ground" otherwise check your heaters and pumps. sry i am not a ton of help but i have heard of it happening before. :) good luck!

meowzer

YIKES....sounds like you have an equipment issue....I know nothing about electronics, BUT you need to find out the cause....I bet eventually the livestock will be affected

2quills

You have a bad piece of equipment somewhere. Unplug everything one at a time and find out what it is and get rid of it. When you put your hand in the tank you are probably creating a path to ground and the current gets passed through you. Otherwise your fish probably don't feel a thing until that happens. But it's still dangerous so you need to figure it out and get it taken care of.

btldreef

Definitely a bad piece of equipment and you need to rectify it immediately. I had a return pump get chewed on every so slightly by a crab and it was shocking the entire tank.

btwk12

well its not doing it now, so there is no way to tell which one is bad. i have got shocked before when my arm was wet, and i stuck it in the tank, and touched the light fixture at the same time. if im off tommorow i am going to inspect all my wiring, and thats a lot of work.

btldreef

That's how my tank was for a while. My husband thought I was crazy, then when the return pump go worse, it became constant and he got shocked as well.

btwk12

Quote:
Originally Posted by BTLDreef http:///forum/thread/386047/my-tank-is-shocking-me#post_3388645