Upgrading my 65 gallon Reef - Sump/fuge

al&burke

Well here it is the start of my upgrade, I have been kicking some ideas around - I am tired of my canister and my nitrates could be a bit lower (zero I hope) yesterday they were 2.5 mg/l. So I made a drawing up of what I am thinking of doing, (imagine that me making a drawing) - I want to display the fuge, I want to see it. I am thinking of making it out of 1/2" acrylic (rimless) with the nice pendant light over it (possibly LED). So please have a look at my drawing and I would really appreciate some feed back, not that I have to ask - because everybody is great on this forum (had to throw that in) Thanks for now, Al

al&burke

meowzer what do you think of seeing the fuge, you are the expert, will it look bad? Some nice live rock cheato and maybe some sea grass in the background, all topped off with a pendant light, I am thinking more of a taller cube for the fuge with external overflows.

meowzer

AL...I am no expert....LOL....I have seen fuges that are displays also....you just have to keep it cleaner....

2quills

Looks pretty good, Al. A fuge that size I would think should have the ability to help out alot with nitrate issues. What are you thinking in turns of an hourly turnover rate for the system? Since all of the overflow would be going through the fuge first and the effectivness of a fuge is increased by increasing the dwell time within it that maybe 3 times turnover an hour would be around the target range???

al&burke

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Quills http:///forum/thread/383256/upgrading-my-65-gallon-reef-sump-fuge#post_3350600